Press "Enter" to skip to content

ICC Test Team of the Year includes Ashwin and Jadeja.

The outstanding Indian spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are part of the ICC Men’s Team of the Year, which was revealed on Tuesday and is captained by Australia’s Pat Cummins. Along with Usman Khawaja (Australia), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Joe Root (England), Travis Head (Australia), and Alex Carey (wk) (Australia), the Test Team of the Year also includes these players.

With 25 wickets in four matches, Ashwin became India’s leading wicket-taker in the Border-Gavaskar series. He made significant contributions with the bat in both innings of the first Test, including a five-for in the second innings. His performance throughout earned him the title of Player of the Series. Ashwin left a lasting impression on his return to the Test team with 12 wickets (5/60 and 7/71) in the first game against West Indies and fifty and three wickets in the second game.

However, despite the outstanding performance, Ashwin was not selected for India’s XI for the WTC23 Final against the same opponent.